Library Committees

Cook Library strongly supports shared governance and teamwork through cross-departmental committees, which plan and implement work that involves the Library as a whole. The Committee Chair is appointed by the University Librarian, and staff serve for up to 3 consecutive year-long terms on a committee. This rotation provides fresh perspectives to the committee, adds variety to the responsibilities of the staff member, as well as broadening his/her knowledge of the organization. Through participation on library committees, Cook Library staff have a vital part in the effective operation of the Library, the accomplishment of important initiatives, and the Library’s growth as a learning organization.


Assessment Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the Assessment Committee is to develop and implement a plan to assess the Library's services, resources, access to information, and facilities.

Chair: Patricia MacDonald

View committee website

Members

Whitney Blake
Library Associate
410-704-2582
wblake@towson.edu

Sarah Crest
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-4725
screst@towson.edu

Jason Ezell
Distance Education Librarian
410-704-5053
jezell@towson.edu

Joyce V. Garczynski
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-5168
jgarczynski@towson.edu

Shana Gass
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-2395
sgass@towson.edu

Claire Holmes
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-3795
cholmes@towson.edu

Paula Langley
Circulation Supervisor
410-704-3442
plangley@towson.edu

Patricia MacDonald - committee chair
Associate University Librarian for Administrative Services
410-704-2445
pmacdonald@towson.edu

Carl Olson
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-3267
colson@towson.edu

Carissa Tomlinson
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-3359
ctomlinson@towson.edu


Building Support Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the Building Support Committee is to monitor the appearance & physical operation of the Library building, & to inform library administration of concerns that need attention.

Chair: Cynthia Baker

Members

Cynthia Baker - committee chair
Administrative Assistant
410-704-3415
cmbaker@towson.edu

Kathleen Cohen
Library Technician
410-704-2397
kcohen@towson.edu

Eleanor Dwonzyk
Library Technician
410-704-2456
edwonzyk@towson.edu

Nancy Erck
Library Associate
410-704-5319
nerck@towson.edu

Frederick Kraus
Library Technician
410-704-2456
fkraus@towson.edu

Ilene Lebson
Library Technician
410-704-5612
ilebson@towson.edu

Melvin Moore
Library Technician
410-704-2256
mmoore@towson.edu

Mark Owens
Library Technician
410-704-2456
mowens@towson.edu


Calendar Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the Calendar Committee is to recommend library hours for the academic year, exam weeks, summer school, minimester, and intersessions.

Chair: Paula Langley

Members

Matthew Brower
Learning Commons Associate
410-704-3665
mbrower@towson.edu

Paula Langley - committee chair
Circulation Supervisor
410-704-3442
plangley@towson.edu

Melvin Moore
Library Technician
410-704-2256
mmoore@towson.edu


Disaster Recovery Committee

Purpose

The Disaster Recovery Team leads and coordinates implementation of the library’s Disaster Recovery Plan in response to disasters that could harm or damage the library’s collections.

Members

Cynthia Baker
Administrative Assistant
410-704-3415
cmbaker@towson.edu

Shannon Blackburn
Library Associate
410-704-4929
sblackburn@towson.edu

Whitney Blake
Library Associate
410-704-2582
wblake@towson.edu

Diane Cascella
Executive Administrative Assistant
410-704-2452
dcascella@towson.edu

Kathleen Cohen
Library Technician
410-704-2397
kcohen@towson.edu

David Dahl
Information Technology Librarian
410-704-5748
ddahl@towson.edu

Rick Davis
Cataloging Librarian
410-704-2686
rkdavis@towson.edu

Jason Ezell
Distance Education Librarian
410-704-5053
jezell@towson.edu

Karen Fulton
Library Technician
410-704-5611
kfulton@towson.edu

Eric Gadsby
IT Operations Specialist
410-704-3340
egadsby@towson.edu

Joyce V. Garczynski
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-5168
jgarczynski@towson.edu

Mary Gilbert
Assistant University Librarian for Content Management
410-704-4926
mgilbert@towson.edu

Felicity Knox
Library Associate
410-704-5613
fknox@towson.edu

Patricia MacDonald
Associate University Librarian for Administrative Services
410-704-2445
pmacdonald@towson.edu

Matt Mickel
IT Operations Associate
410-704-3436
mmickel@towson.edu

Nadia Nasr
University Archivist & Digital Collections Librarian
410-704-2398
nnasr@towson.edu

Deborah A. Nolan
Dean of University Libraries
410-704-2450
dnolan@towson.edu

Paul Peeling
Technology Manager
410-704-4895
ppeeling@towson.edu

Mary Ranadive
Assistant University Librarian for Public Services
410-704-2618
mranadive@towson.edu

Lisa Ruppel
Library Associate
410-704-4116
lruppel@towson.edu

Armando Suarez
Library Associate
410-704-3389
asuarez@towson.edu

Lisa Sweeney
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-5325
ssweeney@towson.edu

Carissa Tomlinson
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-3359
ctomlinson@towson.edu

Alicia Vines
Multimedia Assistant
410-704-5243
avines@towson.edu


Employee Recognition Committee

Purpose

The Employee Recognition Committee explores, develops and helps implement strategies for acknowledging and showing appreciation for library employees.

Chair: Karen Fulton

Members

Cynthia Baker
Administrative Assistant
410-704-3415
cmbaker@towson.edu

Diane Cascella
Executive Administrative Assistant
410-704-2452
dcascella@towson.edu

Karen Fulton - committee chair
Library Technician
410-704-5611
kfulton@towson.edu

Sarah Gilchrist
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-5326
sgilchrist@towson.edu

Sylvia Kodis
Library Technician
410-704-2456
skodis@towson.edu

Matt Mickel
IT Operations Associate
410-704-3436
mmickel@towson.edu

Lisa Ruppel
Library Associate
410-704-4116
lruppel@towson.edu

Lisa Sweeney
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-5325
ssweeney@towson.edu


Library Advisory Council Committee

Purpose

The Library Advisory Council has several purposes: to serve as an information channel between the library, faculty and students in the planning and development of programs and services to meet the needs of the University; to advocate for University resources to support the Library collections and services; to advocate for the integration of information literacy and library instruction into the academic programs; and to provide a forum review and discussion of new library initiatives. View Library Advisory Council members


Management Council Committee

Purpose

Under the leadership of the University Librarian, the Management Council discusses and determines the Library's course of action on various issues related to the University and the Library. In addition to the University Librarian, the Council includes the Associate University Librarian for Administrative Services, the Assistan University Librarian for Public Services, the Assistant University Librarian for Content Management, the Technology Manager, and a staff representative, who provides two-way communication between staff and management.

Chair: Deborah Nolan

Members

Cynthia Baker
Administrative Assistant
410-704-3415
cmbaker@towson.edu

David Dahl
Information Technology Librarian
410-704-5748
ddahl@towson.edu

Eric Gadsby
IT Operations Specialist
410-704-3340
egadsby@towson.edu

Mary Gilbert
Assistant University Librarian for Content Management
410-704-4926
mgilbert@towson.edu

Patricia MacDonald
Associate University Librarian for Administrative Services
410-704-2445
pmacdonald@towson.edu

Nadia Nasr
University Archivist & Digital Collections Librarian
410-704-2398
nnasr@towson.edu

Deborah A. Nolan - committee chair
Dean of University Libraries
410-704-2450
dnolan@towson.edu

Mary Ranadive
Assistant University Librarian for Public Services
410-704-2618
mranadive@towson.edu


Marketing Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the Marketing Committee is to develop and implement strategies to promote the Albert S. Cook Library to the campus and external community.

Chair: Joyce Garczynski

Members

Cynthia Baker
Administrative Assistant
410-704-3415
cmbaker@towson.edu

Chris Casamassima
Library Technician
410-704-2456
ccasamassima@towson.edu

Sarah Crest
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-4725
screst@towson.edu

Jason Ezell
Distance Education Librarian
410-704-5053
jezell@towson.edu

Joyce V. Garczynski - committee chair
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-5168
jgarczynski@towson.edu

Sarah Gilchrist
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-5326
sgilchrist@towson.edu

Felicity Knox
Library Associate
410-704-5613
fknox@towson.edu

Elaine Mael
Cataloging Librarian
410-704-2400
emael@towson.edu

Laksamee Putnam
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-3746
lputnam@towson.edu

Carissa Tomlinson
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-3359
ctomlinson@towson.edu

Alicia Vines
Multimedia Assistant
410-704-5243
avines@towson.edu

Lisa Woznicki
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-2498
lwoznicki@towson.edu


Promotion and Permanent Status Committee

Purpose

The Librarian Promotion and Permanent Status Review Committee assesses and reports on the accomplishments of each candidate within the criteria defined in the "Procedures and Criteria for Librarian Evaluation, Promotion, and Permanent Status" (Appendix 2 to the Towson University Policy on Appointment, Rank and Tenure of Faculty) and provides to the Dean of University Libraries an objective, thorough evaluation of the candidate's qualifications in meeting promotion or permanent status criteria.

Chair: Shana Gass

Members

Sarah Crest
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-4725
screst@towson.edu

Rick Davis
Cataloging Librarian
410-704-2686
rkdavis@towson.edu

Shana Gass - committee chair
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-2395
sgass@towson.edu

Claire Holmes
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-3795
cholmes@towson.edu

Lisa Sweeney
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-5325
ssweeney@towson.edu


Staff Development Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the Staff Development Committee is to promote and communicate opportunities for the staff to update skills, explore the latest innovations in academic libraries, and understand the broader environment of higher education.

Chair: Paula Langley

View committee website

Members

Sara Arnold-Garza
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-3963
sarnoldgarza@towson.edu

Shannon Blackburn
Library Associate
410-704-4929
sblackburn@towson.edu

Eric Gadsby
IT Operations Specialist
410-704-3340
egadsby@towson.edu

Paula Langley - committee chair
Circulation Supervisor
410-704-3442
plangley@towson.edu

Mary Ranadive
Assistant University Librarian for Public Services
410-704-2618
mranadive@towson.edu

Adam Zukowski
Metadata Librarian
410-704-5318
azukowski@towson.edu


Staff Development Funding Committee

Purpose

The Staff Development Funding committee reviews requests for funding support to individuals for staff development activities such as attending workshops and conferences. Review and recommendations are made in accordance with established guidelines.

Members

Diane Cascella
Executive Administrative Assistant
410-704-2452
dcascella@towson.edu

Rick Davis
Cataloging Librarian
410-704-2686
rkdavis@towson.edu

Shana Gass
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-2395
sgass@towson.edu

Paula Langley
Circulation Supervisor
410-704-3442
plangley@towson.edu

Matt Mickel
IT Operations Associate
410-704-3436
mmickel@towson.edu

Adam Zukowski
Metadata Librarian
410-704-5318
azukowski@towson.edu


Staff Lounge Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the Staff Lounge Committee is to coordinate the general upkeep of the Staff Lounge for the faculty and staff who work in Cook Library.

Members

Patricia Whiting
Library Technician
410-704-2456
pwhiting@towson.edu


Technology Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the Technology Committee is to research, explore and present ideas for new technology initiatives, applications, and innovations the Library should consider implementing to strengthen our support to students, faculty, staff, and the general academic community. Topics may include establishing an institutional repository, utilizing SharePoint for library communications, implementing web 2.0 applications, enhancing the role of the media/technology center, etc. The committee will develop and recommend the Library's annual technology purchasing plan based on the technology goals for the year.

Chair: Laksamee Putnam

Members

Shannon Blackburn
Library Associate
410-704-4929
sblackburn@towson.edu

Matthew Brower
Learning Commons Associate
410-704-3665
mbrower@towson.edu

David Dahl
Information Technology Librarian
410-704-5748
ddahl@towson.edu

Eric Gadsby
IT Operations Specialist
410-704-3340
egadsby@towson.edu

Kimberly Miller
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-6324
kimberlymiller@towson.edu

Emiko Ortega
Library Technician
410-704-2632
eortega@towson.edu

Laksamee Putnam - committee chair
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-3746
lputnam@towson.edu

Armando Suarez
Library Associate
410-704-3389
asuarez@towson.edu


TU-USMAI Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the TU-USMAI Committee is to discuss USMAI activities and proposals and to make recommendations based on the needs and priorities of Towson University.

Chair: Mary Gilbert

Members

David Dahl
Information Technology Librarian
410-704-5748
ddahl@towson.edu

Rick Davis
Cataloging Librarian
410-704-2686
rkdavis@towson.edu

Jason Ezell
Distance Education Librarian
410-704-5053
jezell@towson.edu

Mary Gilbert - committee chair
Assistant University Librarian for Content Management
410-704-4926
mgilbert@towson.edu

Patricia MacDonald
Associate University Librarian for Administrative Services
410-704-2445
pmacdonald@towson.edu

Nadia Nasr
University Archivist & Digital Collections Librarian
410-704-2398
nnasr@towson.edu

Deborah A. Nolan
Dean of University Libraries
410-704-2450
dnolan@towson.edu

Mary Ranadive
Assistant University Librarian for Public Services
410-704-2618
mranadive@towson.edu


User Experience Committee

Purpose

The purpose of the User Experience (UX) committee is to identify & study issues relating to patrons’ experiences of the library, its resources, & its services. As advocates of UX methods & philosophies, committee members employ user research & user-centered design methods to holistically craft the structure, context, modes or interaction, & aesthetic & emotional aspects of the library experience in order to facilitate satisfaction & ease of use. The committee makes & implements recommendations that improve the experiences of the library’s physical & virtual users.

Chair: David Dahl

Members

David Dahl - committee chair
Information Technology Librarian
410-704-5748
ddahl@towson.edu

Sarah Espinosa
Residency Librarian
410-704-5169
sespinosa@towson.edu

Mary Gilbert
Assistant University Librarian for Content Management
410-704-4926
mgilbert@towson.edu

Kimberly Miller
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-6324
kimberlymiller@towson.edu

Paul Peeling
Technology Manager
410-704-4895
ppeeling@towson.edu

Laksamee Putnam
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-3746
lputnam@towson.edu

Lisa Sweeney
Research and Instruction Librarian
410-704-5325
ssweeney@towson.edu

Christina Teasley
Reference Librarian
410-704-2462
cteasley@towson.edu

Adam Zukowski
Metadata Librarian
410-704-5318
azukowski@towson.edu


Cook Library Committees / Albert S. Cook Library
http://cooklibrary.towson.edu/committees/index.cfm
Last revised: August 30, 2013

red up arrow Top of Page red up arrow